Latest Immigration News
4750 invitations issued - Applicant's minimum score is now 461 points in the latest draw held on 7th Jan 2021 for Canadian immigration     ||     30 invitations issued - Applicants needed to score at least 65 points to qualify for skilled independent category in the latest draw held on 21st October 2020 for Australian immigration

Australia State or Family Sponsored Skilled Regional (Provisional) Visa (Subclass 489)

The Skilled – Nominated (Provisional) visa (subclass 489) is an Australian state sponsored or a relative (family member who is already a permanent resident of Australia) living in Australia sponsored visa for skilled people wishing to live and work in a regional or low population growth area in Australia.

You must score at least 65 points (the pass mark) on the Points Test to be eligible for this visa.

The Skilled – Nominated (Provisional) visa (subclass 489) is a temporary visa valid for a period of 4 years.

How to apply?

To be able to lodge a valid application for this visa you need to first submit an Expression of Interest through SkillSelect. You can do this in or outside Australia.

If you secure sponsorship from an eligible relative and meet the basic requirements for this visa, you will then receive an Invitation To Apply.

To apply for this visa you must:

  • be invited to apply;
  • be younger than 45 years of age when you are invited to apply;
  • nominate an occupation that matches your skills and qualifications and is on the relevant Medium and Long-term Strategic Skills List (MLTSSL)OR the Short-term Skilled Occupation List (STSOL);
  • have your skills assessed by the relevant assessing authority as suitable for your nominated occupation;
  • have at least competent English;
  • score at least 65 on the Points Test; AND
  • meet the health and character requirements.

Visa Sponsorship by a State or Territory Government

The success of a visa application will be based on a combination of skills, work experience and nomination by a State/Territory government.

Once the Provisional visa has been granted, the holder must retain that visa for at least two years to be eligible to apply for a permanent Regional visa.

The following States/Territories participate in the Skilled – Nominated (Provisional) visa sponsorship scheme:

  • New South Wales
  • Northern Territory
  • Queensland
  • South Australia
  • Tasmania
  • Victoria
  • Western Australia
Australian State Sponsored Visa Application Process

The Skilled – Nominated Visa (Provisional) (subclass 489) is based on a three stage application process:

  • Stage 1 

    The first stage of the application process involves completing a skills assessment with the relevant government body. Your skills assessment enables the Department of Immigration and Border Protection (DIBP) to judge if you have the required level of skill in your chosen occupation to practice in Australia. 

  • Stage 2 

    Once you have received a positive skills assessment, you will need to submit an Expression of Interest through SkillSelect. You can do this in or outside Australia. You will then also need to apply for state sponsorship with an Australian state / territory. This will require that you meet the sponsorship requirements and have work experience in a position listed on one of their State Migration Plans. 

  • Stage 3

    Once you have been issued an Invitation To Apply (ITA), you can continue to the DIBP stage of the application, where you can submit your final, complete application to be approved by DIBP so your visa can be granted. Priority processing arrangements apply to this visa. They determine the order in which the department considers applications regardless of when they have been lodged. 

Moving from a provisional visa to a permanent visa

Through a two stage visa process, Skilled – Nominated (Provisional) (subclass 489) visa holders must live and work in or a low population growth metropolitan area

  • Having lived in regional Australia for at least two years; and
  • Having been employed (including self employed) for at least 12 months in regional Australia;
    may apply for the following permanent residence visas:
  • Skilled – Regional (subclass 887)

If you are intrested to immigrate to Australia, fill out our online assessment form.

Start Online Assessment